2017-2018 Service Opportunities
Check Back Often - New Opportunities Added Frequently

September

Monday, Sep 4 - GH Wetland Workday (9-11)
Saturday, Sep 9 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (2:30-4:30)
Wednesday, Sep 13 - Good Hope Farm (3-6)
Wednesday, Sep 13 - Lake Crabtree County Park (4-6)
Thursday, Sep 14 - Town of Cary Fire Station 4 (5:30-7:30)
Friday, Sep 15 - Town of Cary Fire Station 6 (5:30-7:30)
Saturday, Sep 16 - Big Sweep Lake Benson (9-10:30)
Saturday, Sep 16 - GH Stadium Recycling (9-11)
Saturday, Sep 16 - Good Hope Farm (9-12)
Saturday, Sep 16 - BugFest at Museum of Natural Sciences (9-7)
Sunday, Sep 17 - Big Sweep Harris Lake (1-4)
Sunday, Sep 17 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3:30)​
Saturday, Sep 23 - NC PTA (8-12)
Saturday, Sep 23 - GH Stadium Recycling (9-11)
Saturday, Sep 23 - Big Sweep Lake Wheeler (9-11)
Saturday, Sep 23 - Big Sweep Walnut Creek (9-12)
Sunday, Sep 24 - GH Wetland Workday (10-12)
Wednesday, Sep 27 - Town of Cary Fire Station 8 (3:30-5)
Thursday, Sep 28 - Town of Cary Fire Station 5 (3:30-5)
Saturday, Sep 30 - Carpenter Park (9:30-11:30)
Saturday, Sep 30 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (9:30-12)

October

​Saturday, Oct 7 - Adopt-A-Highway Holt Road (9-10:30)
Saturday, Oct 7 - Big Sweep Lake Crabtree (9-12)
Saturday, Oct 7 - Big Sweep Blue Jay Point (9-12)
Saturday, Oct 7 - Big Sweep Falls Lake (9:30-12:30)
Saturday, Oct 7 - Big Sweep Durant Road Nature Preserve (10-12)
Tuesday, Oct 10 - Town of Cary Godbold Park (3:30-5:30)
Wednesday, Oct 11 - Town of Cary Godbold Park (3:30-5:30)
Thursday, Oct 12 - Town of Cary Godbold Park (3:30-5:30)
Saturday, Oct 14 - GH Stadium Recycling (8-10)
Saturday, Oct 14 - Big Sweep Marsh Creek (11-1)
Saturday, Oct 14 - Haunting at Harris Lake (1-6)
Sunday, Oct 15 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3)
Wednesday, Oct 18 - Lake Crabtree (4-6)
Saturday, Oct 21 - GH Stadium Recycling (9-11)
Saturday, Oct 21 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (10-12)
Sunday, Oct 22 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (2-4)
Tuesday, Oct 24 - GH Campus Cleanup (2:30-3:30)
Saturday, Oct 28 - Big Sweep Walnut Creek (9-12)

November

Thursday, Nov 2 - Lake Crabtree County Park (4-6)
Saturday, Nov 4 - Carpenter Park Community Garden (10-12)
Saturday, Nov 4 - Good Hope Farm Project Benefit (3-8)
Monday, Nov 6 - Herb Young Community Center (3:30-5:30)
Wednesday, Nov 8 - Herb Young Community Center (3:30-5:30)
Saturday, Nov 11 - Town of Cary Litter Sweep - East Cary MS (7-9)
Saturday, Nov 11 - Town of Cary Litter Sweep - Wrenn Drive PO (7:30-9:30)
Saturday, Nov 11 - Town of Cary Litter Sweep - Panther Creek HS (10-12)
Saturday, Nov 11 - Town of Cary Litter Sweep - Page Walker (10-12)
Saturday, Nov 11 - Umstead Park (10-3)
Saturday, Nov 11 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (2-4)
Sunday, Nov 12 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3:30)
Saturday, Nov 18 - Carolina Tiger Rescue (7:55-1:30)​
Saturday, Nov 18 - Town of Cary Shred Event (8-1:30)
Saturday, Nov 18 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3:30)
Monday, Nov 20 - GH Stadium Recycling (2:30-4:30)
Tuesday, Nov 28 - GH Stadium Recycling (2:30-4)

December

Saturday, Dec 2 - Big Sweep Richland Creek (9-12)
Saturday, Dec 2 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (2-3:30)
Saturday. Dec 2 - Town of Cary Litter Sweep - Page Walker (3:30-5)
Sunday, Dec 3 - GH Adopt-A-Highway (10-12)
Saturday, Dec 9 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3)
Sunday, Dec 10 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (2-4)
Saturday, Dec 16 - Carolina Tiger Rescue (7:55-1:30)

January

Saturday, Jan 27 - Astronomy Days @ Museum of Natural Sciences (9-5)
Saturday, Jan 27 - Adopt-A-Highway Holt Road (9-10:30)
Saturday, Jan 27 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3)
Sunday, Jan 28 - Astronomy Days @ Museum of Natural Sciences (12-5)
Tuesday, Jan 30 - GH Wetland Workday (2:30-3:30)​

February

Saturday, Feb 3 - Durant Nature Preserve Invasive Plant Removal (9-12)
Saturday, Feb 3 - Blue Jay Point County Park (12:30-4:30)
​Saturday, Feb 10 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3:30)
Saturday, Feb 10 - Blue Jay Point County Park (2-4)
Wednesday, Feb 21 - Lake Crabtree County Park (4-6)

March

Friday, Mar 2 - Lake Crabtree County Park (2-4)
Friday, Mar 2 - Carpenter Park (3:30-5:30)
Saturday, Mar 3 - Bond Park Compost Education Center (9-11)
Saturday, Mar 3 - Dorothea Dix Park Invasive Plant Removal (9-12)
Saturday, Mar 3 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1-3)
Saturday, Mar 3 - Blue Jay Point County Park (2-4)
Wednesday, Mar 14 - Lake Crabtree County Park (4-6)
Saturday, Mar 17 - Carpenter Park (8-10)
Saturday, Mar 17 - Reptile & Amphibian Day @ Museum of Natural Sciences (9-5)
Saturday, Mar 17 - Big Sweep @ Apex Community Park (9-12)
Saturday, Mar 17 - Town of Cary Arbor Day Celebration (11:30-3:30)
Saturday, Mar 17 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (2-4)
Friday, Mar 23 - Lake Crabtree County Park (4-6)
Saturday, Mar 24 - Carolina Tiger Rescue (7:55-1:30)
Saturday, Mar 24 - Bond Park Baseball Field One (9-11)
Saturday, Mar 24 - Dorothea Dix Park Invasive Plant Removal (9-12)
Saturday, Mar 24 - Durant Nature Preserve Invasive Plant Removal (9-12)
Saturday, Mar 24 - Big Sweep @ Lake Wheeler Park (9-12)
Saturday, Mar 24 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3:30)
Sunday, Mar 25 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (2-4)​
Monday, Mar 26 - Harris Lake County Park (5-6:30)

April

Monday, Apr 2 - Bond Park Kiwanis Shelter (3:30-5:30)
Tuesday, Apr 3 - Town of Cary Spruce (9-11)
Wednesday, Apr 4 - Town of Cary Spruce (9-11)
Thursday, Apr 5 - Town of Cary Spruce (9-11)
Saturday, Apr 7 - Big Sweep @ Johnson Environmental Park (8:30-12:30)
Saturday, Apr 7 - Big Sweep @ Lake Crabtree (9-12)
Saturday, Apr 7 - Dorothea Dix Park Invasive Plant Removal (9-12)
Friday, Apr 13 - Town of Cary Spruce (3:30-5:30)
Saturday, Apr 14 - Big Sweep East Cary Middle School (7:30-9)
Saturday, Apr 14 - Big Sweep Wrenn Drive (7:30-9:30)
Saturday, Apr 14 - Big Sweep @ Walnut Creek Wetland (9-12)
Saturday, Apr 14 - Big Sweep Panther Creek High School (10-12)
Saturday, Apr 14 - Big Sweep Page Walker (10-12)
Saturday, Apr 14 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1-3)
Wednesday, Apr 18 - Umstead Park (4-7)
Thursday, Apr 19 - Umstead Park (4-7)
Friday, Apr 20 - Umstead Park (4-8)
Saturday, Apr 21 - Umstead Park (6:30-4)
Saturday, Apr 21 - Big Sweep Garner (9-10:30)
Saturday, Apr 21 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (10-12)
Saturday, Apr 21 - Carpenter Park Community Garden (2-4)
Tuesday, Apr 24 - Town of Cary @ Fire Station 5 (3:30-5:30)
Wednesday, Apr 25 - American Tobacco Trail (4-6)
Saturday, Apr 28 - SciTech Expo @ Museum of Natural Sciences (9-4)
    not a GH event, take a form & picture to document service - click here for more info
Saturday, Apr 28 - Blue Jay Point County Park (various shifts 10-5)
    not a GH event, take a form & picture to document service - click here for more info
Saturday, Apr 28 - Big Sweep @ Marsh Creek (11-1)
    not a GH event, take a form & picture - click here for more info
Saturday, Apr 28 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (1:30-3:30)​

May

Saturday, May 5 - Dorothea Dix Park Invasive Plant Removal (9-12)
    not a GH event, take a form & picture to document service - click here for more info
Saturday, May 5 - Durant Nature Preserve Invasive Plant Removal (9-12)
    not a GH event, take a form & picture to document service - click here for more info
Saturday, May 5 - Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve (10-12)
Thursday, May 10 - Harris Lake County Park Longleaf Festival Training (4:30-5:30) w/event on 5/19
Saturday, May 12 - GH Wetland Workday (9-11)
Monday, May 14 - Harris Lake County Park Longleaf Festival Training (4:30-5:30) w/event on 5/19
Saturday, May 19 - Harris Lake County Park Longleaf Festival (9:15-2:30) w/mandatory training on 5/10 or 5/14
Sunday, May 20 - GH Wetland Workday (9-11)
​Saturday, May 26 - GH Adopt-A-Highway (9-11)

​2nd Semester Hours are Due by Thursday, May 31






In order to develop a sense of stewardship within APES students, each is required to complete 15 hours of environmental community service. Five hours are due at the end of the first (or third) quarter with ten additional hours due by the end of the semester. If students complete more than five hours in the first quarter, the additional hours will rollover to the second. If a student fails to show up for an event they signed up for or removes their name from signup genius within 24 hours of the event, five points will be deducted from their grade. This deduction may be avoided by finding a replacement or emailing Mr. Rush/Ms. Magee before the posted event start time. Many opportunities will be provided, with sign-up via the website signupgenius. If searching for your own service opportunities, please DO NOT contact Hemlock Bluffs Nature Preserve or Lake Crabtree; they already provide us with all available opportunities. Students completing events not sponsored by Green Hope must fill out a service form and attach a photo.  Community service activities that do not benefit the environment or an environmental organization, while commendable, do not count towards your service requirement (ie. Habitat for Humanity, Landscaping & Beautification Efforts, Food Bank).
Sign Up Now!
Required Waivers
Adopt-A-Hwy
Bond Park
Good Hope Farm
Harris Lake
Lake Crabtree
Tiger Rescue
Town of Cary
KidsTogether Park
Holly Springs

Links

Service Form

Adopt-A-Hwy Safety Video

Service Photos

Wake County Parks & Rec Opportunities
(be sure it's environmental!)
community service